Hooray: I finished my second educational game today

June 26, 2006

I just fought my headset, the microphone resisted to work. Very irritating, now that I wanted to catch up with the informal unworkshop and talk to some course mates before listening in tonight. I wandered around the house, being very upset, and complained to my son. He solved my problem: I had twisted the connector so it would not sit properly in its socket… he twisted it back and the problem was solved. It just shows again that you must be your personal IT supporter to survive in this virtual world.

At work I finished an educational game for our new product today, right on time for our summit meeting on Wednesday. My favourite multimedia guy and I invented a golf game. In this gamee a golf player must hit one out of four possible holes (= answering a multiple choice question) to get points. The quicker he answers, the more points he gets. It is a 2-player game, we use it in f2f classroom training. The game is set to 5 minutes, that should keep attention up. We have good experiences with educational games, they add to teaching variety and loosen the atmosphere a lot. This is our second game, it has whooshing sounds from the golf player hitting the ball and subtle applause for every correct answer. I believe in learning through playing.

Leave a comment